Principal Investigator


Prof. Anindya Datta


Ph. D.: 1998, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, degree from Jadavpur University

M. Sc.: 1994, University of Calcutta

B. Sc. (Hons.): 1992, Presidency College, University of Calcutta


Professor: 2012 - Present, IIT Bombay

Associate Professor: 2007 - 2012, IIT Bombay

Assistant Professor: 2002-2007, IIT Bombay

Visiting Scientist: 2000-2002, Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology

Postdoctoral Researcher: 1998-2000, Iowa State University

Lecturer: 1997-1998, Raidighi College


Head, Department of Chemistry, May 2018 - May 2021

Head, Center for Research on Naotechnology and Center for Sophisticated Analytical Instrumental Facility (CRNTS-SAIF):September 2016 - May 2018

Associate Dean (Student Affairs): 2013-2015

Chairman, Hostel Co-ordinating Unit: 2009-2013

Awards and Recognition

Bronze Medal, Chemical Research Society of India: 2018

Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India (FNASc): 2017

Departmental Award for Excellence in Teaching, IIT Bombay: 2017

G. V. Bakore Memorial Award, Indian Chemical Society: 2011

Young Researcher Award, Chemical Research Society of India: 2006

IIT Bombay Young Investigator Award: 2005


Post Doctoral Fellows 

Dr. Shrishti Pandey

Shrishti joined our group as an IPDF in September 2023. Her research topic is monitoring the dynamics of fluorescent probes in the intracellular medium

Dr. Tapas Pal

Tapas joined the group in September 2023. He will be serving as an IPDF. His research focuses on perovskites nanocrystals

Research Scholars

Prajit is an INSPIRE fellow. He has done his M.Sc from the University of Hyderabad. He is working on Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy and Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging Microscopy of nanomaterials, specifically of perovskites

Arkaprava is a Prime Minister research fellow (PMRF). He has completed Integrated BSMS degree from IISER Bhopal. He is working on the design and application of fluorophore molecules for intracellular imaging and microscopy

Gourab is a CSIR fellow. He has completed M.Sc degree from IIT Kharagpur. He is working on ultrafast exciton dynamics in exotic nano and micro-crystals with potential for light harvesting

Ankit Kumar

Ankit completed his M.Sc. from the IIEST Shibpur. He is working on the ultrafast dynamics of perovskites

Priya Bhandari

Priya is an alum of the University of Calcutta (Rajabazar Science College). She has received the prestigious PMRF in October 2023. Her research focuses on the ultrafast dynamics of semiconductor nanomaterials

Mirza Nasib Begg

Nasib is an alum of the University of Calcutta (Rajabazar Science College). His research interest will be focused on fluorogenic biomolecules, especially polypeptides

Sucheta Kundu

Sucheta completed her Masters from University of Calcutta (Rajabazar science college). She joined our lab as UGC fellow.

Ayushi Chand

Ayushi has joined our group as an IITB-Monash scholar. She completed her Bachelor's from Miranda House, DU, and Master's from ICT, Mumbai.

MSc Students

Mousmrita Das