Principal Investigator


Prof. Anindya Datta


Ph. D.: 1998, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, degree from Jadavpur University

M. Sc.: 1994, University of Calcutta

B. Sc. (Hons.): 1992, Presidency College, University of Calcutta


Professor: 2012 - Present, IIT Bombay

Associate Professor: 2007 - 2012, IIT Bombay

Assistant Professor: 2002-2007, IIT Bombay

Visiting Scientist: 2000-2002, Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology

Postdoctoral Researcher: 1998-2000, Iowa State University

Lecturer: 1997-1998, Raidighi College


Head, Department of Chemistry, May 2018 - May 2021

Head, Center for Research on Naotechnology and Center for Sophisticated Analytical Instrumental Facility (CRNTS-SAIF):September 2016 - May 2018

Associate Dean (Student Affairs): 2013-2015

Chairman, Hostel Co-ordinating Unit: 2009-2013

Awards and Recognition

Bronze Medal, Chemical Research Society of India: 2018

Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India (FNASc): 2017

Departmental Award for Excellence in Teaching, IIT Bombay: 2017

G. V. Bakore Memorial Award, Indian Chemical Society: 2011

Young Researcher Award, Chemical Research Society of India: 2006

IIT Bombay Young Investigator Award: 2005


Post Doctoral Fellows

Swayam Prakash obtained his Ph.D. from IIT Madras and presently working as an institute postdoctoral fellow (IPDF), working on metal enhanced fluorescence

Sushil has completed his Ph.D. from IIT Bombay under the supervision of (Late) Prof. L. S. Panchakarla and joined the ultrafast dynamics lab as an Institute Postdoctoral Fellow (IPDF) in July 2022. His research interest revolves around the self-assembly of different nanocrystals/ quantum dots into 2D and 3D superlattices/ superstructures

Hemen has completed his Ph.D. from IIT Bombay and joined as an Institute Postdoctoral Fellow (IPDF). His area of research includes ultrafast dynamics in plasmonic nanoparticles, dye-silica nanoconjugates, and semiconductor quantum dots

Tanuja has received her Ph.D. in November 2022. Her research focuses on excited state processes in biomolecules and soft matter.

Ejaj received his Ph.D. from S N Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences (2015-20) and joined Prof. Pratik Sen's lab at IIT Kanpur for his first Post-doctoral stint (2020-22). He has joined our lab as an NPDF and will work on elucidation of charge carrier trapping mechanism in perovskite nanocrystals.

Souradip defended his thesis in March 2023 and continuing his research on the photophysics of fluorogenic molecules as an institute post-doctoral fellow (IPDF)

Research Scholars

Prajit is an INSPIRE fellow. He has done his M.Sc from the University of Hyderabad. He is working on Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy and Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging Microscopy of nanomaterials, specifically of perovskites

Arkaprava is a Prime Minister research fellow (PMRF). He has completed Integrated BSMS degree from IISER Bhopal. He is working on the design and application of fluorophore molecules for intracellular imaging and microscopy

Gourab is a CSIR fellow. He has completed M.Sc degree from IIT Kharagpur. He is working on ultrafast exciton dynamics in exotic nano and micro-crystals with potential for light harvesting

Ankit Kumar

Ankit completed his M.Sc. from the Indian institute of engineering science and technology (IIEST) Shibpur. He is working on the ultrafast dynamics of plasmonic systems and their applications

Priya Bhandari

Priya is an alum of University of Calcutta (Rajabazar Science College). She qualified UGC-JRF and joined as a Ph.D. student and perusing her research on ultrafast dynamics of semiconductor nanotetrapods

Mirza Nasib Begg

Nasib is an alum of University of Calcutta (Rajabazar Science College). He recently joined our lab as a CSIR-MANF fellow. His research interest will be focused on fluorogenic biomolecules, especially polypeptides.

Master's Students

Anshuman Samanta

Siddhant Yadav

Project Student

Anjali Mourya

Visiting Student

Aparna Shukla

Aparna is pursuing Ph. D. in Prof. Soumit Chatterjee's lab at ISM Dhanbad. She is learning ultrafast techniques in our lab.